Two Poems

by Marie Kazalia

Multiple Personality Poem*

I made love with a multiple personality–

the one-(of him)-in-control
sat on the edge of my bed
explaining the many aspects of 10
oops forgot to count himself–
eleven selves

I asked if each one inside him had a name

“I haven’t gotten that clever yet” he said

Who’s the one that giggles when he kisses me?

he glances a flash of eyes from the side
under a dark hat brim–
“oh, that’s just the silly one,”
“are you going to miss him?” he asked

yes, I said simply

“I’ll tell him” he said

So I asked if he talked to them all
and they to each other

he said “yes” pressing things forward
making it time to leave
“but the truth is”
“there’s nothing there between us–
you and me”, he told me

I knew it was true of this one
the one-in-control
but I definitely had something going
with the others

(always waiting for something to happen)**

Don’t classify me so quickly
I am not easily identified
Refined restraint
waited too long
to dance wild
jump about
in clothes that do not matter
Swinging fringe off a chain
lips any old way
Doesn’t matter–
showing what shows
Who gives a fuck
Who in the hell cares, anyway
escaping
pleasure
bother
worry matter

Marie Kazalia was born in Toledo, Ohio but has lived her adult life primarily on the West Coast and in San Francisco, with the exception of four expatriate years in Japan, India, and China. Marie has a BFA degree from California College of Arts and Crafts. Marie´s book of poems titled Erratic Sleep in a Cold Hotel has been published by Phony Lid Books. Marie also has two mini-chapbooks published by CC Marimbo: All-Purpose Tragedy and Megalopolis. Marie also works as an artist and promoter of art.
*Originally published at Art Villa. Republished with permission of the author.
**Originally published at Unlikely Stories. Republished with permission of the author.
Leave a Reply

